Mumbai Indians’ victory parade brings city to a halt as fans celebrate IPL 2019 win

first_img not out Jasprit Bumrah J. Bumrah Match Ended Indian Premier League, 2019 Time: (GMT) | 19:30 (Local Time) Indian Premier League, 2019 2 Square Leg All batsmen are considered right handed vs Chennai CHE covers Rohan Sen MumbaiMay 13, 2019UPDATED: May 13, 2019 21:26 IST The victory parade of close to 6 kilometers saw Mumbai Indians players sharing their joy with the fans (AP Photo)HIGHLIGHTSThosuands of fans lined up the streets of Mumbai for MI’s victory paradeMI players and support staff rode in an open bus from Antilia to their team hotel in Nariman PointMumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in IPL 2019 final to lift their 4th titleMumbai Indians’ open-bus parade in Mumbai took place on Monday evening as thousands turned up to cheer for the players and the support staff following their IPL 2019 triumph a day before in Hyderabad.The franchise owners organised a get-together with the fans at Antilia (Mukesh Ambani’s house) and they rode in an open bus through the streets of the city to their team hotel at Nariman point from there onwards.The whole team along with the support staff members were present at the gathering along with hundreds and thousands of fans who have lined up on the streets from Altamound Road to Nariman Point.Mumbai Indians’ social media handles along with some of the players posted pictures and videos of the whole event as they went live with the fans and shared their joy at being crowned the IPL champions for the fourth time in the tournament’s history.Mumbai defeated MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings in the final on Sunday by 1 run in a humdinger of a contest in Hyderabad to lift the trophy for the fourth time after 2013, 2015 and 2017.Mumbai is getting ready to welcome the Champions…You can’t be missing this #OneFamily #CricketMeriJaan #MumbaiIndians Indians (@mipaltan) May 13, 2019Chasing a modest 150 for victory, Chennai Super Kings rode on opener Shane Watson’s innings to reach within touching distance of the target but Mumbai held their nerves and Lasith Malinga produced an outstanding final over to take snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.Mumbai rode on Pollard’s unbeaten 41 to post 149 for 8 but they looked hapless when Watson was in the middle. Watson, who was dropped twice during the knock, was singlehandedly carrying Chennai’s hopes with a belligerent 80 off 59 balls, his innings laced with eight fours and four sixes.advertisementBut once he was run out off the fourth ball of the final over, it was Sri Lankan Malinga who showed his class to snatch the crown from the defending champions.With two runs needed off the final ball, Malinga executed a slower yorker to perfection, trapping Shardul Thakur (2) right in front to send his teammates including skipper Rohit into delirium as Shane Watson sunk in his seat in the Chennai dugout.The win was Mumbai’s fourth in succession against Chennai in IPL 2019 and also their fourth against the Super Kings in an IPL final. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai on all four occasions. He is the only player to have won the trophy five times – 4 with MI and one with Deccan Chargers in 2009.Also Read | IPL 2019 final was paisa vasool for fans but CSK players heartbroken: Harbhajan SinghAlso Read | We made mistakes but never gave up: MI coach Mahela Jayawardene after 4th IPL titleAlso Read | Rohit Sharma raps with Yuvraj Singh as Mumbai Indians party hard after IPL 2019 winAlso Read | MS Dhoni was really heartbroken, never seen him like that, says Sanjay ManjrekarFor sports news, updates, live scores and cricket fixtures, log on to Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter for Sports news, scores and updates.Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from Post your comment Do You Like This Story? Awesome! Now share the story Too bad. Tell us what you didn’t like in the comments Posted byrohan sen Tags :Follow Mumbai IndiansFollow IPL 2019Follow Mumbai Indians victory paradeFollow Champions paradeFollow MI vs CSK 0 0 covers 1 Mid off covers Mid on Point Lasith Malinga L. Malinga 133/5 ( D. Bravo 18.2 Overs) , 4 Match Ended graphs 148/7 57.14 15 148/7 ( S. Thakur 20 Overs) , MS Dhoni (c)(wk) MS Dhoni (c)(wk) run out (Ishan Kishan) 0 Mid Wicket Jasprit Bumrah (MUM) J. Bumrah (MUM) third Man Mid Wicket Scorecard commentary – Mumbai MUM Deepak Chahar D. Chahar 149/8 Chennai 0 0 0 149/8 Mumbai Indians’ victory parade brings city to a halt as fans celebrate IPL 2019 winMumbai Indians brought Mumbai to a standstill as thousands cheered for the IPL 2019 champions during their open-bus parade in the city. 4 covers 25 13 3 Series Status: Mumbai Indians wins the 2019 Indian Premier League Player Of The Match: Jasprit Bumrah Player Of The Series: Andre Russell No data available! All batsmen are considered right handed Mid Wicket Mumbai Bowling MUM Bowling 0 All batsmen are considered right handed 3/26 (4) 8 0 5 Square Leg Mid Wicket 80 0 49 All batsmen are considered right handed fine Leg 13 Chennai batting CHE batting (20.0) Faf du Plessis du Plessis st Quinton de Kock b Krunal Pandya Mid on 24 0 st Quinton de Kock b Krunal Pandya 0 Point lbw b Rahul Chahar fine Leg 2 lbw b Lasith Malinga (20.0) Square Leg 14 2 c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah 0 59 73/3 ( A. Rayudu 10.3 Overs) , Krunal Pandya K. Pandya covers Square Leg Ambati Rayudu A. Rayudu c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah 4 1 Shane Watson (CHE) S. Watson (CHE) 0 Ravindra Jadeja R. Jadeja not out 25 (20.0) 0 80 (59) 200 146/6 ( S. Watson 19.4 Overs) , Shane Watson S. Watson run out (Krunal Pandya) 0 0 Point Rahul Chahar R. Chahar 100 1 Mid on 0 3 Mumbai All batsmen are considered right handed Mid off Suresh Raina S. Raina lbw b Rahul Chahar Top Bowlers Top Bowlers fine Leg Point Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND) Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Nitin Menon (IND) and Nigel Llong (ENG) third Man Point Dwayne Bravo D. Bravo c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah c Quinton de Kock b Jasprit Bumrah 3.5 third Man fine Leg 1 Point advertisement All batsmen are considered right handed fine Leg 4 6s 4s Mid on Hardik Pandya H. Pandya Kieron Pollard (MUM) K. Pollard (MUM) 135.59 Indian Premier League, 2019, Final third Man 5 fine Leg Super Over m e/r third Man Chennai CHE Mid off Mid Wicket view more view less R Mid off 1 (20.0) Mumbai beat Chennai by 1 run 12.25 2 All batsmen are considered right handed 0 run out (Ishan Kishan) 41 (25) 26 B 1 Mumbai MUM 8 view full scorecard 33/1 ( du Plessis 4 Overs) , o covers third Man third Man Extras: 9 runs (B: 5, LB: 0, WD: 4, NB: 0, P: 0) Mid on (20.0) Mid off S/R Fall of Wickets Square Leg 3 1 Mid Wicket All batsmen are considered right handed 2/14 (4) 3.5 0 r w Mid off Mid off run out (Krunal Pandya) 100 Point Mid Wicket Mitchell McClenaghan M. McClenaghan 148/7 0 3 148/7 wd 1 fine Leg Mid on 0 0 Top Batsmen Top Batsmen Point 0 8 Mid Wicket Mid off 0 Deepak Chahar (CHE) D. Chahar (CHE) Shardul Thakur S. Thakur lbw b Lasith Malinga Harbhajan Singh H. Singh 0 0 0 Mid on 2 Toss: MUM elected to bat 14 Square Leg 6 covers 70/2 ( S. Raina 9.2 Overs) , 4 1 Mid on 14 100 third Man 0 Imran Tahir I. Tahir 15 Square Leg nb covers 39 4 82/4 ( MS Dhoni 12.4 Overs) , Square Leg fine Leglast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *